September 17, 2018

Pursue your passion.

Several decades ago I learned something about myself that has served me until today. As a young disc jockey the way that most of us got new music before it was available was to join a record pool.

The disc jockey would pay a monthly fee and get new music or promotional product from the leader of the record pool. The product that we got was determined by the relationship that the pool leaders had with the record labels.

I was told by other DJs that that was the only way to get product from the record labels. So, I set out to bypass the record pool and get my records directly from the label.

I pursued this route and ended up getting far more product than I had ever gotten as a record pool member.

I am pursuing my fledgling career as a travel writer with the same determination.

Pursue your passion in spite of those who tell you that it can’t be done or its never been done that way.

Leave a comment